Nothing but questions

I have about fifteen different things I should be doing this morning. Instead, I’ve been thinking about who I write for, and how it’s changed over time, and whether I approve of that change, and how it’s been shaping what I write. About who I want to be when I grow up as a writer.

For me, writing started as an escape, as solace. These days it’s sometimes that, but often something else entirely. I’ve been sitting at a crossroads for a while, and I have yet to choose a direction.

Why do we write the things we do? What stories do we choose to tell, and why those and not others?

How do you know where you want to go as a writer?

6 responses to “Nothing but questions

  • justagirl99

    Personally, I don’t know. I’m taking it day by day, paragraph by paragraph, sentence by sentence. Although, I am not tied down with writing for anybody in particular. I am only starting on my journey toward getting published (hopefully) one day. I listen to my heart, to my head, to what ever is running through my mind and just write. It is later that I will stop down and really read it and see if it was where I wanted it to go. Sometimes it gets changed, but sometimes it’s some of the better moments of the story.

    Writing for me began as an escape as well. I hope you find your direction.

    • cosmicdriftwood

      Thank you for sharing your thoughts. I think staying in the moment with writing is a wonderful place to be, though I find my head too often wants to wander from there. That is a life lesson as much as a writing lesson, I suppose.

  • M.E. Garber

    I think that writing, as with anything and everything else in life, changes over time: its place in our lives, our goals for it, all of it. You’re wise to sit back and re-evaluate your writing and your goals–for it and yourself–when things may feel ‘out of whack.’ Are you clinging to old values or needs that are holding you back? Or are you no longer holding to what drove you, still drives you, to write?

    How to find your true direction? I do this: imagine your ideal writing life. Is it realistic, i.e., *could* you get there? Do you really want to work that hard? Then, re-imagine that writing life in terms of what you’re actually willing to do. How does this look and feel to you? Yes, there are sacrifices on every side, but that’s kind of life; we don’t, unfortunately, get it all. Re-imagine until you’re as content as possible. If worse comes to worst, you’ve only lost a bit of time daydreaming, and I think that’s a powerful thing in and of itself πŸ™‚ Good luck!

    • cosmicdriftwood

      I have to pull back and reevaluate on a fairly regular basis. Every time something changes, good or bad, I need to find my way back to what I am doing, and why. Some points feel a bit more complicated than others. Wouldn’t it be nice if being a writer was as simple as completing a series of exercises and graduating with a little writer badge and license? πŸ™‚

      Thanks, Mary. I appreciate your thoughts on the matter. It’s definitely time for a little daydreaming.

  • Lydia

    I don’t know how to answer your other questions but I do have an answer for this one:

    “What stories do we choose to tell, and why those and not others?”

    Certain characters just need to be written. They feel so real that every time I try to sit down and write something else they worm their way into my story until I finally give them one of their own.

    Not sure if that makes sense to anyone else but it’s the best way I can think to describe it. πŸ™‚

    • cosmicdriftwood

      Yes, some characters insist on having their say. It is one of the truly magical parts of writing, I think. I often wonder where they come from, these persistent visitors.

      (And you explained it exactly right. πŸ™‚ )

Leave a Reply

